The Battle of the Torahs

This is a complex study which may confuse some. It is not difficult though. Here we will attempt to understand this chapter, may the Ruach (Holy Spirit) guide us and teach us.

Romans 7
1 Or do you not know, brothers – for I speak to those knowing the Torah – that the Torah rules over a man as long as he lives?

Sha’ul (Paul) is writing this to people who knows Torah. What I understand with that statement is that if you do not know Torah then you could interpret this wrong.

2 For the married woman has been bound by Torah to the living husband, but if the husband dies, she is released from the Torah concerning her husband.
3 So then, while her husband lives, she shall be called an adulteress if she becomes another man’s. But if her husband dies, she is free from that part of the Torah, so that she is not an adulteress, having become another man’s.

Sha’ul gives us an example here of a divorced woman who married another man. In Torah this is not allowed as the woman is bound to the first husband until death. Therefore when the man dies she is freed from that bondage and is no longer an adulteress. This is what happened to Israel, she started whoring with other gods. But when Yeshua died she was released from that bondage and is now able to return and remarry Yeshua. Herein lies an amazing salvation story which you can see in the video I will show at the end of this post. “Nailed to the cross“.

4 So my brothers, you also were put to death to the Torah through the body of Messiah, for you to become another’s, the One who was raised from the dead, that we should bear fruit to Elohim.
5 For when we were in the flesh, the passions of sins, through the Torah, were working in our members to bear fruit to death.

If you read the post “Curses or Blessings?” then you will see that you can decide whether you want a curse or a blessing from the Torah. You will receive either the one or the other. If you obey the Torah you will be blessed but if you disobey Torah then you will be cursed. If you divorce from your partner and get married to another then you are under the bondage of the curse of that Torah command which you have disobeyed. It is from this curse which Yeshua freed us. Yeshua did not remove the command but He removed the curse of that command from us when we accept His gift of salvation.

When we keep disobeying Torah then we keep bearing the cursed fruit of the Torah until it finally kills us. Not necessarily by physical death now but could be in the second death after being resurrected to the White Throne Judgment.

6 But now we have been released from the Torah, having died to what we were held by, so that we should serve in newness of Spirit and not in oldness of letter.
7 What, then, shall we say? Is the Torah sin? Let it not be! However, I did not know sin except through the Torah. For also the covetousness I knew not if the Torah had not said, “You shall not covet.”
8 But sin, having taken the occasion through the command, did work in me all sorts of covetousness. For apart from Torah sin is dead.

We were not released from obedience to Torah but from the curse of disobeying Torah. Torah still stands today. In Yeshua we can do ALL THINGS: we can obey Torah fully.

Is Torah sin? With other words, is it wrong to obey Torah after Yeshua’s death and resurrection? No. We must still obey Torah. As it says above “Let it not be!”

If it was not for Torah then we would not know what is right and what is wrong. If there is no Torah then there also is no sin because sin is the disobedience of Torah. 1 Joh 3:4.

9 And I was alive apart from the Torah once, but when the command came, the sin revived, and I died.

We lived without the Torah once, but when we learned Torah sin became known and I died. I died in that I no longer do what I want to do but rather what Yahuah said I must do and Yeshua showed me how to do so that it is no longer I who live but Yeshua who lives in me. Shining the light of Torah in this dark world so that others too may see the Truth.

10 And the command which was to result in life, this I found to result in death.
11 For sin, having taken the occasion through the command, deceived me, and through it killed me.

Yes, it killed my will. Now I no longer whore around or murder people or eat what is unclean. Now I died to sin and started obeying Torah.

12 So that the Torah truly is set-apart, and the command set-apart, and righteous, and good.
13 Therefore, has that which is good become death to me? Let it not be! But the sin, that sin might be manifest, was working death in me through what is good, so that sin through the command might become an exceedingly great sinner.

Torah does not cause death, it is our disobedience to Torah which causes death. If you whore around you will end up with HIV (eg). If your sin does not cause death in this life then it will bring death at the White Throne Judgement IF you never accepted Yeshua’s gift of salvation.

14 For we know that the Torah is Spiritual, but I am fleshly, sold under sin.
15 For what I work, I know not. For what I wish, that I do not practise, but what I hate, that I do.
16 But if I do what I do not wish, I agree with the Torah that it is good.

Here we see the battle between obeying Torah vs disobeying Torah. We battle to overcome our sins its a daily struggle. If we persevere we will succeed. Dont try and overcome all at once. Take them on one by one. The easy ones do all at ones but those you struggle with, take them on one by one. Prayerfully. As soon as you become aware that you are sinning, withdraw. Immediately. You will see that it becomes easier each time. Slowly. It is a process called repentance which will take your whole life and still you will not have overcome everything there is to overcome. Yeshua does not expect us to be perfect overnight but we need to work on it daily.

17 And now, it is no longer I that work it, but the sin dwelling in me.
18 For I know that in me, that is in my flesh, dwells no good. For to wish is present with me, but to work the good I do not find.
19 For the good that I wish to do, I do not do; but the evil I do not wish to do, this I practise.

This is repeating what we have already seen. The struggle of overcoming the flesh. Sin. The rest is saying the same again. Read it slowly and think carefully what it is saying.

20 And if I do that which I do not wish, it is no longer I who work it, but the sin dwelling in me.
21 I find therefore this law, that when I wish to do the good, that the evil is present with me.
22 For I delight in the Torah of Elohim according to the inward man,
23 but I see another torah in my members, battling against the torah of my mind, and bringing me into captivity to the torah of sin which is in my members.
24 Wretched man that I am! Who shall deliver me from this body of death?
25 Thanks to Elohim, through Yeshua Messiah our Master! So then, with the mind I myself truly serve the Torah of Elohim, but with the flesh the torah of sin.

May Yeshua have mercy on us and help us in our journey to purification and becoming a spotless bride.

Until next time.

Shalom

Mieke

