I reprove and discipline those I love

Rev 3:19-20

(19) “As many as I love, I reprove and discipline. So be ardent and repent.

(20) “See, I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears My voice and opens the door, I shall come in to him and dine with him, and he with Me.

When reading the verses on the letter addressed to the assembly of Laodikeia, I noticed these two verses following each other and suddenly it hit me. These two verses are giving the same message. Take note that Yeshua is standing OUTSIDE the door and wants to come inside.  How is Yeshua knocking on our door? Let me quote what my mother said on this:

With other words Yah says if you are His child He disciplines you otherwise you are not His child. In disciplining you He knocks on your door waiting for you to turn away from your sinful way and to open the door that He might enter and sup with you. So as a Christian going through rough times realize He is busy disciplining you so in fact He is knocking on the door of your heart through rough times.

Now this verse has new meaning:

Gal 2:20

(20) “I have been crucified with Messiah, and I no longer live, but Messiah lives in me. And that which I now live in the flesh I live by belief in the Son of Elohim, who loved me and gave Himself for me.

This means for Yeshua to live in us we need to live as He has lived. Yeshua obeyed Yah, the Father, else He was not perfect and would not qualify being our Saviour.

Being disciplined is NEVER a pleasant experience for anybody. However, if you do not listen the discipline will get worse until you listen or, in Yah’s case, He leaves you alone. When you do not want to listen to His voice then He will not force Himself on you.

When Yeshua is inside then you dine together on the Bread of Life which will bring healing to you.

Joh 6:33-35

(33) “For the bread of Elohim is He who comes down out of the heaven and gives life to the world.”

(34) So they said to Him, “Master, give us this bread always.”

(35) And Yeshua said to them, “I am the bread of life. He who comes to Me shall not get hungry at all, and he who believes in Me shall not get thirsty at all.”

Thinking about Yeshua being the Bread of Life and Him standing outside the door knocking, let’s me wonder whether being in that situation is where one truly wants to be.

To learn more on how we can be disciplined read Curses or Blessings?

Until next time Shalom.

Mieke

